Rising From The Ashes Of Poverty…

Standard
Rising From The Ashes Of Poverty…

Thought are swirling and my excitement for my new job has me sitting with a smile in my face and joy in my heart. If everything pans out this will help my daughter and I rise from the ashes of poverty like the Phoenix.

I have had Medicaid for Peanut since she was born and I have been on food stamps from her birth until now. At the end of April I will no longer be receiving food stamps, I have been receiving the maximum amount since the closure of the child care center I worked at in August of last year. Food stamps have allowed me to feed my child healthy and high quality organic food and all natural food for 5 years now. And to tell the truth I am scared. I am scared that I will no longer be able to provide the organic and all natural product that we have been enjoying. I am nervous that I will not be able to afford all the things in my life that are a priority to me.

But, I am excited at the same time. I am trying hard to see this as an opportunity to rise out of my situation and to embrace the responsibility that comes with the extra income I have literally never made this much and had the opportunity as a parent to be comfortable financially where I don’t have to worry how I will pay the rent or put gas in the car. I have always had this idea that the money that I receive in child support should be saved and set aside as a rainy day/college, first car, start-up money for adult life fund for Peanut and I now with much more favorable circumstances I could actually do it. We shall see how it all works once I have a full month of paychecks under my belt and the bills are paid.

I have many times kept the thought in my mind that our situation was temporary and only for a time in my life that we needed assistance from the state. I have had this idea that I was working toward something of worth that would provide Peanut the best chance at success to begin her life through her education, artistic pursuits, musical ambitions or any other thing that her little heart wants to give a try not to the point of spoiling. My intention is to help her find her passions and to encourage her in them and I felt like these things were not options when we were living on less than $400 a month. Praise God for answers to prayer and for His provision for Peanut and I!! I feel blessed and happy to be in this position. Peace has found me and I pray that it continues and that I thrive in my position and keep moving in the direction of stability and in turn bringing more peace to my life. Like the Phoenix I am excited that we are rising from the ashes of poverty and move toward this new adventure.

Jenness

c/s

“Our passion are the true phoenixes; when the old one is burnt out, a new one rises from its ashes.” Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

About jennessjohnston78

Hello World my name is Jenness I have been blogging for a couple of years I have used my Embracing blog to help me carry my burdens and to discuss issues that are sometimes very heavy...I am a passionate and very opinionated person I appreciate the outlet that blogging affords me...I am a single mom and have many struggles that I battle in my life but I feel a call on my life to share my blessings and struggles. I pray that the words that I write make there way to people who can be touched by them and that someway, somehow God can use them to have a positive impact. I love writing and though I am not great at it I started the Journal Of The Everyday in an effort to hone my skills and learn new things about myself through writing...I have a pie in the sky idea of someday writing a book...A lofty goal I know...so thank you everyone who joins me on my journey by reading my blogs...I welcome comments and feedback. Here is to embracing the possibilities of everyday life. :)

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Rising From The Ashes Of Poverty… | Embracing Possibilities

  2. My dear friend, I have nominated yu for The Versatile Blogger Award! Congratulations! Please visit this link for the rules:transcendingbordersblog.wordpress.com/2013/04/24/the-versatile-blogger-award-3/

Leave a Reply

