Kid TV Sucks…Well Most Of It Does

Standard

My day began with Strawberry Short Cake blaring up the stairs…ugh can I just say I hate most kid TV!! YES I HATE IT!!! (Ok, Ok not all of it I do love Veggie Tales…where oh where is my hairbrush!)  But, every morning I endure my Peanuts favorite shows until I can no longer handle the annoying sounds of it. Now I will admit I have some favorites like Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood it is a spin-off of Mr. Rogers, what a cute sweet little show. I also like Super Why what a creative and fun idea!! All the story book characters come to life…it teaches kids to spell which is one of the building blocks for all reading and learning. It also is paired with some sort of lesson or morality tale. And it is less annoying than most other shows and for this Sassy Momma that is a huge bonus!!!

Now can I ask just one thing?? When did Sesame Street become political?? What is up with pushing the liberal agenda on young minds? I am not against tolerance I am not against equality or anything I see displayed on Sesame Street. I but I believe the things they are trying to impress on the minds of our children are parenting issues not issues that need to be addressed by a show that was meant to teacher my child the basics of learning. With celebrities frequenting the show (far what I can only assume is for charity) doing the letter or word of the day and or singing a kid appropriate versions of their songs…mind you most of them my daughter doesn’t even know because their brand of humor or music is not appropriate for children. It has become a way to perpetuate a cause and has a fraction of the educational benefits it once did. (Again I am not against the messages I just don’t think they belong on kid TV.) Sesame Street is not Peanuts favorite and when she wanders away I sneak the chance to turn it to the Today Show with Kathy Lee and Hoda and maybe just maybe I may even get enough time to watch Kelly & Michael!! 😀

Though I am a opinionated and open-minded mom I think that we should keep politics and children separate and let parents decide for themselves what they want their children to learn in this regard. To my fellow parents just be aware of what your kids are watching and make sure it aligns with your beliefs. BTW the only part of Sesame Street I do like is Abby and her flying fairy school. Even though it is ridiculous she is a cute little pink puppet!!

Jenness

c/s

About jennessjohnston78

Hello World my name is Jenness I have been blogging for a couple of years I have used my Embracing blog to help me carry my burdens and to discuss issues that are sometimes very heavy...I am a passionate and very opinionated person I appreciate the outlet that blogging affords me...I am a single mom and have many struggles that I battle in my life but I feel a call on my life to share my blessings and struggles. I pray that the words that I write make there way to people who can be touched by them and that someway, somehow God can use them to have a positive impact. I love writing and though I am not great at it I started the Journal Of The Everyday in an effort to hone my skills and learn new things about myself through writing...I have a pie in the sky idea of someday writing a book...A lofty goal I know...so thank you everyone who joins me on my journey by reading my blogs...I welcome comments and feedback. Here is to embracing the possibilities of everyday life. :)

Leave a Reply

