Modesty and Feminism

Standard

Modesty has been a subject that was drilled into me as a child and for that I have extremely grateful to my mother that she stood her ground about it. I have had this post sitting in my drafts for sometime and the reason that I was I was prompted to write this post was because of the half time show during the Super Bowl. During which I watched yet another woman flaunt her body and sexuality in front of millions of people as a form of “family friendly” entertainment…a few years back I was even more appalled at Shakira on a 2009 episode of America’s Got Talent where she sang her song She Wolf and during her performance she literally humped a speaker in the most graphic and provocative way I was sickened and lost respect for her in that moment. Why has the world made this acceptable entertainment? Why is it that I can’t get clothing at Target that covers my daughter’s body? Seriously, how did the woman’s liberation movement and fight for equality and empowerment come to mean oozing our sexuality all over the place wearing it like a badge and hitting people over the head with it. How do I train my precious child to cover her body and protect herself from the dangers of the world when the media touts sexuality as being something to be flaunted. I was prompted to look up feminism, and modesty in the dictionary the clearest and best definitions are my opinion is listed below…

Feminism

1. belief in women’s rights: belief in the need to secure rights and opportunities for women equal to those of men, or a commitment to securing these

2. movement for women’s rights: the movement committed to securing and defending rights and opportunities for women that are equal to those of men
And a feminist is someone who advocates such rights…
Modesty
1. freedom from conceit or vanity, 2.  propriety in dress, speech, or conduct
I discussed this issue at length with my mother (who raised 3 daughters and has two beautiful granddaughter and one more on the way) just before I began writing my post and with her permission I share why she was so adamant about it this is what she has to say on the subject…
I was so strict about this subject because modesty is a Biblical principle.  Not only that, but girls get judged by their appearance too often.  If girls dress immodestly they become objectified and begin to think that is more important than character.  I see more women manipulate through these means every day and then they wonder why no one takes them seriously. I have many other reasons. self-respect, respect for God and his principles, respect for men, immodesty increases the chance of immorality, etc., etc…One of the main reasons is that I wanted to protect you (my sister and I) from the potentially wonderful feeling of that kind of attention, but horribly false sense of value you would get from men paying attention to you just to get something from you.  Young girls don’t always draw attention from their peers.  But from all kinds of men, young and old. It might  be flattering attention from that cute guy you noticed in English.  But your 50-year-old math teacher, grocery store clerk, quiet uncle, Dad’s  best friend, etc. notice too. You know, our society is selling women and men a false bill of goods by using sexiness and attractiveness to sell everything, as if it is more important than any other quality a woman could have.  Beauty and sexiness is fleeting, but quality of character, intelligence, friendship, ability, knowledge, kindness, insightfulness, humility, etc., last a lifetime and improve with age like fine wine. (Linda)
Frankly, I could not have said it better.  My daughter is beautiful inside and out and I hope that she continues to grow her inner beauty and have quality of character to accompany her throughout her life. Even with that being said I see things that have the influence of society and people in our life that have begun to eat away at her confidence telling her that beauty is defined by her body structure and face. I have such strong feelings about this and I really think that it is more about the protection of my daughter and others daughter and sons. Even though it is a Godly principle I think the concepts apply to all people. It is a matter of teaching our daughters and sons about character,  that inner beauty and that the quality of your heart and character are what matter.  How can we teach the sons and future men of this generation to treat woman with respect and treat them as their equals with the pervasive idea that you are nothing if you are not sexy. With super stars running around in the their underwear or less in videos and on TV how can we teach them to value the quality of a woman heart and mind to find her worth in actions other than how her body and face look.
We are on a frightening path and are children are in the middle of it all do you think that the future leaders of this world are going to serve their communities well when they cannot see past the surface to see people’s humanity, seeing a person for their true inner beauty allowing them to open their hearts and minds to all the qualities they possess like being able to hold an intelligent conversation, using their minds to be creative in whatever way God has blessed them, their drive, ambition, respect for authority, respect for themselves and a love of people. These things are what will carry them through their lives. God put everyone on the Earth for a purpose lets help our children live out that life and encourage them to live authentically and with integrity and honor, with a good sense of self-worth that has nothing to do with their outward appearance. Therefore, raising true Feminists who fit the definition…advocates for equality for not just woman but for human kind that radiate beauty from the strength of their character that reflects onto their beautiful faces making them the most beautiful of God’s creatures.
Jenness
c/s
Links:
About jennessjohnston78

Hello World my name is Jenness I have been blogging for a couple of years I have used my Embracing blog to help me carry my burdens and to discuss issues that are sometimes very heavy...I am a passionate and very opinionated person I appreciate the outlet that blogging affords me...I am a single mom and have many struggles that I battle in my life but I feel a call on my life to share my blessings and struggles. I pray that the words that I write make there way to people who can be touched by them and that someway, somehow God can use them to have a positive impact. I love writing and though I am not great at it I started the Journal Of The Everyday in an effort to hone my skills and learn new things about myself through writing...I have a pie in the sky idea of someday writing a book...A lofty goal I know...so thank you everyone who joins me on my journey by reading my blogs...I welcome comments and feedback. Here is to embracing the possibilities of everyday life. :)

7 responses »

  1. Pingback: Modesty and Feminism | Embracing Possibilities

  2. This is a very powerful post. My mother always told me to work on my brain, because intelligence is necessary and the most important thing you could ever have. For the other stuff, some people will like you for how you look, and some people will love you for all the rest of the wonderful things about you. There is no way to stop the objectifying, but we need to remember our pride in ourselves should be someplace else besides our shakable regions!
    Power to you for raising your daughter with such a good head on your shoulders! I’m loving this blog btw!

    • I am so honored by your words!!! Thank you so much!! I really try to speak from the heart and have such love for writing and reading and I am really trying to hone my skills. I also love your blog it is wonderful and the more I read the more I like. The battle against objectification no matter in what arena is one person at a time and if I start with my daughter who knows the possibilities. God can move mountains and I trust that giving Peanut the right tools to face this broken world will help her aid in the moving through the mountains and valleys her life will bring with the help of the mountain mover Himself. 😀 Thank you again Sweet!!!
      Jenness

  3. It’s the objectification of women everywhere in the media and in our fashion choices that really bothers me. I add to that my personal pet peeve which is spiky high heels. I only where flat comfortable shoes that are hard to find. I refuse to wreck my feet and back by wearing high heels designed to make a woman look sexier.

Leave a Reply

