Kindergarten and tears…

Standard

My baby girl is headed to kindergarten in the fall and last Thursday she got all registered. It was a long wait and very hot with the nearly 200 people who were in the lobby of her new school. I have always thought that I would put her into a private school I have had this dream because I had such struggles with school not only because of my ADHD but because kids like me at the time were looked over and undereducated pushed through the school system and not given the proper tools to succeed. I never developed a love for learning that I envied in other people and many times have wished that I could have had. And being that things like learning disabilities and with my own experiences I had a pie in the sky idea for my precious peanut to attend a school where she would get any and all the attention she needed to succeed. With that being said in our current financial situation I decided to give public school a try…I am calling it a trial run.

Peanut was so excited to be going to her new school and registering while we were in the hot line of kids and parents she saw the school mascot a million times and gave him high 5’s and hugs a plenty and chit chatted with the other kids in line her new potential little friends. It is funny to me because they all seemed like babies to me and that they were so much younger than my Peanut, who is 5 going on 15. 😛 Truth is sometimes I have to remind myself that she is 5 and that 5 year-olds act like 5 year-olds. Crazy I know but if you knew my daughter you would understand. 😉 I didn’t know what to expect with the process and after filling out all the paper work we took a trip down the hall to meet the school nurse, the principle, and both of the kindergarten teachers.

Through the process they gave her a paper with a test of sorts on it and had set up all these little booths. At each booth was a different task that tested her readiness for entering kindergarten. At each station I saw my daughter get the opportunity to shine she tackled each task with precision and excitement, as she was praised and encouraged that she definitely was ready to start school!! At the name writing session they asked her to write her name and I said Peanut why don’t you write your whole name…first, middle and last and she did it perfectly!! Tears streaming down my face my thoughts racing that my baby is growing up just hit me straight in the heart. The teacher that was helping at that station told her she was the only child that wrote her whole name and I will not lie I was beaming with pride my heart full that she is ahead of the game at this point. Of course more tears for Momma…I can only imagine what the teachers thought. She is a special and unique child, she has a thirst for learning, is articulate and sharp as a tack. I can’t wait for her to start growing and learning leaps and bounds! I also can’t wait for her to once again be able to participate in the social aspect of it. She is a people lover just like me and she gets so bored and lonely at home with mom being that she doesn’t have siblings.

All in all I am excited for this new adventure in our lives and I am sure the day she walks from my arms and into that school-house I will be smiling though my tears and not wanting to let her go. Her cuteness is extreme in the pictures and she is sooo excited!!

Jenness

c/s

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About jennessjohnston78

Hello World my name is Jenness I have been blogging for a couple of years I have used my Embracing blog to help me carry my burdens and to discuss issues that are sometimes very heavy...I am a passionate and very opinionated person I appreciate the outlet that blogging affords me...I am a single mom and have many struggles that I battle in my life but I feel a call on my life to share my blessings and struggles. I pray that the words that I write make there way to people who can be touched by them and that someway, somehow God can use them to have a positive impact. I love writing and though I am not great at it I started the Journal Of The Everyday in an effort to hone my skills and learn new things about myself through writing...I have a pie in the sky idea of someday writing a book...A lofty goal I know...so thank you everyone who joins me on my journey by reading my blogs...I welcome comments and feedback. Here is to embracing the possibilities of everyday life. :)

7 responses »

  1. Pingback: Kindergarten and tears… | Embracing Possibilities

  2. ” and she gets so bored and lonely at home with mom being that she doesn’t have siblings.” Not really. Keep your options open. http://schoome.wordpress.com/2013/02/27/staying-home-with-mum-2/ You have done an amazing job of educating your little girl up to this point so why not continue? Do you think that other ‘grown ups’ know more about your little girl than you do? I don’t think so. Your little girl has a thirst for learning (which all children are born with) and you have nurtured that. At some stage you may find that your little one would rather be learning at home with you, when that time comes be ready, be brave and go for it. If it does not come then so be it but keep the option open. It works and it produces amazing human beings, I have two grown sons to prove it. Good luck and thank you for sharing. Terry

    • I have thought some about homeschooling but I know that I lack the patience and perseverance it would take to be successful at getting my daughter the best education possible. Thank you so much for your comments and I will keep it in mind as we move forward.
      Jenness

      • Here is a secret that most adults don’t know……… children learn, adults don’t teach. Kids will learn despite what we throw at them, and they usually do. Your job is just to provide the right environment and then get out of their way until they need you. Above all listen. Kids tell you really important stuff when you least expect it, so you need to be listening. Trust your child. Children are born with a natural curiosity that drives them to understand, all you have to do is let them follow their interests, whereever it leads them.
        You have the greatest job in the world, enjoy it, whatever education path you choose. Blink and it’s over. Be well
        Terry

Leave a Reply

