Parenting concerns…

Standard

I have little to say but a desire to write. Today was pretty laid back I finally went and got stamps that I have needed since I was doing Christmas cards…I sent out my last 2 today. :/ Yes a little late ok way late. I do not think that they will mind isn’t it that thought that counts. :[ I also applied for several jobs today. As I was looking for positions I came across one at a child care center and I found it curious to me that a child care center would explicitly say if you have a child that needs care please do not apply here. Really isn’t that discrimination?? I mean I understand that they may not have room…but someone who is just right for that job may be excluded because they don’t want mothers of small children to apply. I can’t wrap my head around it. Oh well my skills will find a better place to be I hope. I want to go back to working with babies mmm I love squishy babies…I just want to snuggle and love on them. ūüôā

Now to move to a weightier subject…The air in my house was filled with arguments today,¬†I woke up to the crinkle of a potato chip bag coming from downstairs I crept out of bed and tried to silently make my way to catch my daughter eating the chips.¬† (she had quickly placed the bag¬†in the garbage I am sure due to her hearing the floor boards creak) She has been getting out of bed and sneaking food before I wake up.¬†Our¬†arguing¬†stemmed from the¬†fact that everyday I fight with her about stealing food and going along with that is not listening. I don’t know what do…I am at a loss. I have talked with¬†her about consequences I have discussed the danger of overeating and no¬†matter what I say she is not listening or taking me seriously.¬†Part of the reason I think this is a big deal is because she gained a pound in a month. Not only that but since I have an everyday battle with obesity I worry non-stop about her inheriting my bad habits.

I realize how hard my battle to have a child who’s only example is her obese mother is¬†to be healthy and have good eating habits, but¬†I have hope.¬†I need some advice and help as to get past this phase of stealing food and sassiness before I pull my hair out. I have so many things in mind for my child and a life battling and eating disorder is not one of them.¬†I truly believe that¬†with a little bit of patience and support that I can figure out a way even for my 5 year-old to understand¬†why health is such an important issue. ¬†All in all I want to just figure this all out and move forward into the year finding a ways for us to both live healthier. This issue is so much deeper but I think I will¬†save that for a different¬†day.¬†Tomorrow will be better.

Jenness

c/s

1/7/13

About jennessjohnston78

Hello World my name is Jenness I have been blogging for a couple of years I have used my Embracing blog to help me carry my burdens and to discuss issues that are sometimes very heavy...I am a passionate and very opinionated person I appreciate the outlet that blogging affords me...I am a single mom and have many struggles that I battle in my life but I feel a call on my life to share my blessings and struggles. I pray that the words that I write make there way to people who can be touched by them and that someway, somehow God can use them to have a positive impact. I love writing and though I am not great at it I started the Journal Of The Everyday in an effort to hone my skills and learn new things about myself through writing...I have a pie in the sky idea of someday writing a book...A lofty goal I know...so thank you everyone who joins me on my journey by reading my blogs...I welcome comments and feedback. Here is to embracing the possibilities of everyday life. :)

Leave a Reply

