Fun Was Afoot

Standard

Today lots of fun was afoot. 🙂 My little love and I last night spent the evening celebrating Christmas with family and during the festivities she received a fun new toy. She got a princess play-doh castle the second we got home (at 10:30pm) she wanted to put it together and play. With a promise to play today I whisked her off to bed. The first thing this morning she had it set to remind me that I promised to play with her. So after breakfast we sat for probably 2 hours and played with play-doh…it was so fun!! Making shapes and impression of princess accessories…Belle’s mirror, Aurora’s skirt even Prince Charming. We then moved on to making hearts and playing with the super cool gold sparkly play-doh!!! I felt like a kid again and my Peanut Girl was tickled pink to be playing with her Momma. I snapped some pictures of our play-doh fun. We were then off to scooter for a bit and send off some Christmas cards. When we came home I went into stealth mode to try to get one of my Christmas projects done…I am so very broke that I decided that I need to be creative and make gifts for all the little loves in my life from my daughter to my niece and nephews. I spent the day making snowman crayons with silicon baking molds and it was so fun trying to get them as colorful as possible and to see the cute shapes that came out when they had cooled off. These things though very simplistic fed a creative part of my soul and I think it is was a way for healing in my daughters and I’s relationship.

My daughter has been surrounded by adults since birth and as a result she acts and speaks like a much older child. This part of her I greatly appreciate and I think her maturity will serve her well in the future. But, as for the dynamics that it has created in our relationship sometimes it is very combative. She likes to be right and she likes to argue and get her way. And for us the last few weeks maybe months have been riddled with her boredom of being at home with mom not seeing her friends has creating a fire storm of sass and stir crazy behavior. I have written about phenomenon and the toll it has taken on my in another recent posts. So with all that her and I needed to sit down and just have fun with each other and I needed to get on her level and just play with my baby so that I could reconnect.

I love how God created an opportunity for me to see His hand in our lives and how He genuinely cares about me and Peanut. That He is answering my cries for help and solutions to the troubles we have been experiencing. Healing and restoration can always be found even in the something as simple as playing with play-doh on a dreary day in December. My heart is full today thank you Lord for that gift.

I have posted the pictures from today below and I hope with Christmas coming that you all find yourselves surrounded by love and that it brings you peace.

Jenness

P.S. The crayon project was super easy…(make the crayons naked) break up the crayons into small pieces, place them in the molds, then place them in a 275 degree oven and bake for 8 to 10 minutes. Let them set and remove them from the molds once they have completely cooled.

 

c/s

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About jennessjohnston78

Hello World my name is Jenness I have been blogging for a couple of years I have used my Embracing blog to help me carry my burdens and to discuss issues that are sometimes very heavy...I am a passionate and very opinionated person I appreciate the outlet that blogging affords me...I am a single mom and have many struggles that I battle in my life but I feel a call on my life to share my blessings and struggles. I pray that the words that I write make there way to people who can be touched by them and that someway, somehow God can use them to have a positive impact. I love writing and though I am not great at it I started the Journal Of The Everyday in an effort to hone my skills and learn new things about myself through writing...I have a pie in the sky idea of someday writing a book...A lofty goal I know...so thank you everyone who joins me on my journey by reading my blogs...I welcome comments and feedback. Here is to embracing the possibilities of everyday life. :)

Leave a Reply

