Day 20-Thankfulness

Standard

Thankfulness has been spreading across my Facebook page…I have yet to jump on the bandwagon. For some reason this post has been sitting in my drafts for 9 days. I have been blocked for some reason and the one thing I have learned about being blocked is that I need to write…and whatever comes out can be edited. ūüėÄ With that being said I decided to detail a few things I am grateful for. I don’t want to be cheesy or overtly mushy but I live a blessed life and think I need to pay homage to the things and people who bring me joy, truth, help, and love…LOTS OF LOVE.

At the top of my list is¬†being thankful for my beautiful, smart, precious gift from God my Daughter Lily. I am thankful that after¬†4 years of asthma and allergies this year she has been well controlled and able to run and play with ease¬†without coughing…I am thankful that her spill off the monkey bars though resulting in a break was healed quickly and she is fully recovered and beyond even what the surgeons thought possible¬†as far as mobility was concerned…I am thankful for her sweet kisses and ability to make me laugh when I am so mad all I want to do it scream…I am thankful for her love of music, dance, art and that she is not afraid to just be herself and I pray that she can maintain her free spirit and that she always keeps her big heart. She truly is the greatest gift God has ever given me. ‚̧

I am thankful for my generous parents who help when asked and lead advice whether solicited or not. They light up Lily’s world in a way I cannot. I am so thankful for the way that they love and cherish her. I am thankful that they love me even when they don’t agree with me. I am thankful that no matter the time or place that they still rescue me when I need it…if it is a flat tire or a listening ear I can rely on them.

I am thankful for my siblings and their spouses…they are amazing, smart, talented and ¬†articulate people.¬†The way they love and serve others is inspirational. Not many people¬†enjoy the type of relationships with their immediate family that I do. Not only are we all believers but we all enjoy spending time with each other and know that if one of us is in need all the rest will be on their doorstep to help however they can.

I am thankful for my friends…they sharpen me in a way that I am always surprised by. I am thankful that they take are always open and honest with me. I appreciate our differences and our similarities. My friends are like family to me and through thick and thin joy and sorrow they encourage me or tell me to stop being so crazy. ūüôā

One thing I have been thinking about this year that is surprising to that I¬†have become extremely¬†thankful for is the process of refinement I have been experiencing. Let me explain…I have always felt like trouble finds me my grandmother Irene used to say to me that if it weren’t for bad luck I would have no luck at all. I felt like I was becoming defined as a person by the negativity and hardships that have come my way. And though they have been a prominent feature of my life in the last¬†6 years I would say I have been trying to figure out my place amidst the carnage in my life. What I am learning more everyday is that I am THANKFUL for the trouble and strife…for the heartache and pain that has but me through a refiners fire in a sense…I am trying to see my hand in all the things that come to me good and bad. I want to learn how I create the negative things that come to so that I can better control them. I want to see how God is using it to shape me into the person that he wants me to be. I have a purpose and I think that no matter what happens in my life I can use it to further the purpose that God has given me. I have talked a little about what I think is part of that purpose…my desire to help people. It is a burning desire in my heart to serve others to use my life to positively affect people with my life lessons. I am THANKFUL for the opportunities, insights, wisdom and heartache that have taught me how to be a better person and that have been driving me forward to keep changing and learning.

THANKFULNESS comes in all forms for me…But,¬†I am most thankful for the forgiveness, acceptance, and unconditional love that I have been afforded by the sacrifice of God’s son dying on the cross for me. I am¬†eternally thankful that I am a child of God and that He chose me.

Jenness

About jennessjohnston78

Hello World my name is Jenness I have been blogging for a couple of years I have used my Embracing blog to help me carry my burdens and to discuss issues that are sometimes very heavy...I am a passionate and very opinionated person I appreciate the outlet that blogging affords me...I am a single mom and have many struggles that I battle in my life but I feel a call on my life to share my blessings and struggles. I pray that the words that I write make there way to people who can be touched by them and that someway, somehow God can use them to have a positive impact. I love writing and though I am not great at it I started the Journal Of The Everyday in an effort to hone my skills and learn new things about myself through writing...I have a pie in the sky idea of someday writing a book...A lofty goal I know...so thank you everyone who joins me on my journey by reading my blogs...I welcome comments and feedback. Here is to embracing the possibilities of everyday life. :)

One response »

  1. Pingback: Day 20-Thankfulness « Embracing Possibilities

Leave a Reply

