Day 2

Standard

Here is the break down of the day…coffee in the morning with a friend and her kids and then a quiet day at home with my Peanut. I succeeded in eating at home today by saving gas and going nowhere which for me is a victory. I have been struggling with some things lately and so it was nice to have a quiet day for my brain to decompress. I think I may try to cook this weekend to reinforce my effort to eat all our meals at home…tonight was leftovers and we had the last of the wonderful Mexican quinoa that I made last week. Mmm such a yummy treat and oh so good for us, I feel good feeding Peanut things like quinoa, it is her favorite food. 🙂 In the morning while I was listening to the Bible on my phone app that takes me through it in a year…and I wondered about a particular passage so I opened up the actual book. 🙂 I stumbled across a verse that touched on just what I have been battling…to preface I am single mom with little resources and what we do have doesn’t even cover our bills let alone gas for the car yet I feel led to help watch extra kids and have people in and out of the house eating and hanging out on a regular basis.  (I love cooking for others and having people in my home) I normally cherish being able to do this even when we are running thin…which as of late is fairly often. But lately my heart has been hardened about things and I am admittedly feeling less than generous, I am tired I feel like I have the weight of the world on my shoulders and I find myself complaining way too much. I could go through and give lots of excuses as to why I THINK that I am feeling this way but the truth is I am selfish, hard-hearted and unforgiving. (Now before things go to far I wanna say I know that good boundaries make for happier lives and this is something I am working on shoring up everyday.) I have been praying and thinking about everything in great detail so when I stumbled upon 1 Peter 4:8-10 I knew what God has been trying to say…Above all love each other deeply because love covers over a multitude of sins. Offer hospitality to one another without grumbling. Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms…so God I will obey get over myself and use what I can to serve you but…I need a little help with this so please guide me and help me to continue to see how much blessed I am and to have a good attitude.

Jenness

About jennessjohnston78

Hello World my name is Jenness I have been blogging for a couple of years I have used my Embracing blog to help me carry my burdens and to discuss issues that are sometimes very heavy...I am a passionate and very opinionated person I appreciate the outlet that blogging affords me...I am a single mom and have many struggles that I battle in my life but I feel a call on my life to share my blessings and struggles. I pray that the words that I write make there way to people who can be touched by them and that someway, somehow God can use them to have a positive impact. I love writing and though I am not great at it I started the Journal Of The Everyday in an effort to hone my skills and learn new things about myself through writing...I have a pie in the sky idea of someday writing a book...A lofty goal I know...so thank you everyone who joins me on my journey by reading my blogs...I welcome comments and feedback. Here is to embracing the possibilities of everyday life. :)

Leave a Reply

